Today is gameday…

Those of you that know me – know that I love sports, especially football. For the last 8 years, I have had the privilege of being an Assistant Coach for the varsity football team at Western Alamance, the high school in which I graduated from in 2002. When people find out that I still have ties to my high school, they raise questions.

What people don’t know is that at Western Alamance – it’s not all about football. As an Assistant Coach, I hardly ever talk about football……I focus on enriching the lives of boys and help them become productive young men. One of the duties that I am gladly responsible for is giving the team an occasional pregame speech. If you can imagine about 50 young men, silent, and on one knee, circled around me for a short speech before a game……it can get chilling.

Most of my speeches include topics like how to overcome obstacles, playing with heart and honor, and doing things the right way for the right reasons. One of the important messages that I try to convey to the players it to keep everything in perspective. Life is so precious and can never be taken for granted, as it can be ripped away.

Oh yeaaa, after all that……we have a football game to win!

~ by jcranfill on October 2, 2009.

One Response to “Today is gameday…”

  1. Hey Josh,

    Just came across your blog, I really enjoyed reading the posts so far. Can’t wait to see what else you have to say. I hope all is well!

Leave a comment