Chilling words…

It’s been a few days since my last post. Nothing much has changed in my life, just being thankful for each day and making the most of every minute.

If I needed something else to remind me of that, I certainly got it today…… I found out today that a friend from high school’s humvee was hit by a rocket propelled grenade in Afghanistan this weekend. At least one guy in the car died but my friend survived with some serious injuries, including a broken arm.  Please pray for my friend and his family. This is the first individual that I know that has been directly effected and injured in the war.

I will be the first to admit, that when I read about or see on TV of service men and women being injured or killed in the war, there is an initial shock and sadness, but those feelings are quickly gone as the happenings our own lives come back to the forefront. Now with my friend going down, there is an entirely different feeling. There is a sense of chill, a sickeningfeeling in the pit of my stomach, to honestly realize that these service men and women are fighting (and some dying) for my freedom…..for me.

Looking back at my life, it’s not that bad. I owe it to these men and women to make the very most of each and every day.

It is not hard to find someone who has a harder life than you.

~ by jcranfill on October 5, 2009.

One Response to “Chilling words…”

  1. “Looking back at my life, it’s not that bad. I owe it to these men and women to make the very most of each and every day.

    It is not hard to find someone who has a harder life than you.”

    So true. I think we all need to be reminded of that from time to time.

Leave a comment