Thankful for a chance

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I thought I’d have my next post be about something I was thankful for. Even though I am thankful for everything, I am thankful for my new friends….

Often times when people see me and meet me, they hesitate (very understandable) because of my physical appearance. Let’s face it, I am small, I look a little different, I talk a little different, and I might do things a little different, so people, most of time, don’t give me a chance, whether it be socially or occupationally.

Over the last few months, I have had the opportunity to make some new friends. Linda Lyon – who is the principal of Gateway Education Center, a school which serves children with disabilities from birth to age 22 and a close friend, explained that the school’s Infant/Toddler Program was interested in having a website. This program is operated by the Greensboro Cerebral Palsy Association which is a part of the United Way, so a website would be a great way to reach out to people. My name was given to the GCPA as someone who could make the website happen.

After Linda had discussions about me with the GCPA, I was introduced to two board members Dan McAlister and Sally Cone. It was obvious in our first meeting that they both had their reservations about me as the one to develop the program’s website. I had no experience, had never designed or published a website, but I was willing to learn. All I wanted was a chance.

I am thankful to say that I was given that chance. I am also happy to say that I am designer and webmaster of the GCPA’s Infant/Toddler website! Please visit the website at http://www.gatewayearlyintervention.org

I want to thank my new friends Dan McAlister and Sally Cone for giving me a chance. They both had faith in me and my abilities – not my disabilities…….that’s what friends do.

~ by jcranfill on November 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “Thankful for a chance”

  1. Thankful you’re family buddy! You’re a daily inspiration, love you!

  2. LOVE the site! No one would’ve been more perfect than you! Make sure to add a link on this site on your side bar of “your work”. Also, I suggest you add a link to your Facebook page every-time you write on this blog so ALL you friends will know you have updated (like me for instance 🙂 Love you!

Leave a comment