Today is my birthday…

Today is my birthday, my 26th birthday! After what my family and I have been through over that last 2 months, this birthday is meaning a little bit more this year. Most of you know what has taken place, but for those of you that don’t, here’s a shortened version…..

I went into the hospital on January 4th with pneumonia. I then had an allergic reaction to some medicine and sent to ICU because I really couldn’t breathe and was wearing my bipap breathing mask all day to breathe. Then I had major complications because I didn’t have the strength because of my Muscular Dystrophy) to cough and get the stuff out of my lungs, so I had to have a tracheotomy, and have a trach put in. Soooooo, after 29 days in the hospital, I finally got to come home. With the trach now, I am on a ventilator at night, and I am trying to learn how to eat and drink all over again. I went through some scary times, and I’ll be honest, a few of those times I didn’t think I was going to make it….it bout got me, but God helped me one more time.

Over the past couple months, I have learned more about a life’s lesson that I thought I knew everything about and that I thought I had a tight grasp on. That lesson is….Never take things for granted.

While I was sick, there were many days and nights that were dark, low, and gloomy, in which “not-so-good” thoughts crept in my head. This is when; the things that I now know mean the most, kicked in. When I was at my lowest point, my family, friends, and Gods good grace became my backbone and helped me pull through.

A lot of times, we let things cloud our vision of what really matters the most. So, today on my birthday, I am not worried about getting gifts, because I have everything I need!

~ by jcranfill on February 25, 2010.

5 Responses to “Today is my birthday…”

  1. Josh Cranfill is the bravest and most honorable man I know….and it is an inspiration to be able to call you my FRIEND.

  2. Josh you are so amazing. I wish that everyone could have your out look on life. You inspire me everday. I want you to know that over the years you have made such a differance in my life. The world is a much better place just because you are in it.

  3. You, my friend, are a world class inspiration for the rest of us.

  4. Josh it doesn’t seem possible that you are 26 years old. You and your family have definitely had lots of hurdles to jump and mountains to climb.. but you all did it. And you are right we all take alot of important things for granted. You are definitely a inspiration to everybody. You wonderful positive attitude we could all adopt. Glad you are home and doing better. WE all have to take one day at a time. God bless you Josh!

  5. Happy Birthday, Josh! You are a gift to all of us every single day. Your writing is touching and powerful. Thank-you. Sally

Leave a comment